Singapore allows the consumption of 16 types of insects

Singapore allows the consumption of 16 types of insects

The Food Authority of Singapore has approved 16 insect species for consumption and import. Among them are crickets, grasshoppers, locusts, mealworms, honey bees and silkworms, MIR 24 reports.

The authorities note that entomophagy (eating insects) is a new trend for the country. Therefore, it is necessary to develop special recommendations for the consumption of these unusual products.

The solution opens up opportunities not only for the domestic market, but also for export. It is now allowed to both prepare dishes from approved insects and supply them abroad.

More related articles

A devastating disaster hits China
Brad Pitt’s eldest daughter has decided to officially abandon her father’s surname
Colombian government ban bullfighting
The project for the construction of the Sarahs-Mary-Serhetabat highway was proposed at the “White City Ashgabat” forum
Japanese robot solved Rubik's cube in 0,3 seconds
Akylbek Japarov arrived in Ashgabat for the Council of CIS Heads of Government